10 Word Prompts Wednesday

In my opinion, one of the best things for writer’s block is a writing prompt. Often times I’m able to keep my story going by opening a book and zeroing in on a random word. Sometimes I search for word prompts online or flip through the dictionary. I make a handwritten list of words and cross them off as I use them. Word prompts also help when I’m editing. Finding a way to use them helps me set my scenes, creating both imagery and symbolism.

So starting today, I’m going to post 10 Word Prompts Wednesday.

This weeks words are:

Flare

Cross

Clip

Determine

Sign

Stereo

Violet

Wood

Loose

Dismiss

If you use any of these words, feel free to share your sentence in a comment. If any has word suggestions for next week, leave those in a comment as well.

Xx Melissa

This entry was posted in 10 Writing Prompts Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 10 Word Prompts Wednesday

  1. My first sentence:

    His pupils flared, and he jumped straight from his seat on the floor to his feet.

Leave a Reply

